Testimonials

Samson Nyandoro - Zimbabwe

(IMAS EOD Levels 1 & 2 course - 12th to 30th September 2016 and IMAS EOD Level 3 course - 29th May to 16th June 2017)


I did my level 2 with Mat Kosovo in 2016. As I was preparing my journey from Zimbabwe, I was scared not of the course but just fear of the unknown. As I arrived in Peja oh, believe me, I received a very warm welcome from the staff at Mat Kosovo. The people there are very professional and friendly that you don't miss home. The instructors and course content is just too good. These guys know their stuff. I didn't think twice to go back early 2017 to do my level 3 and I am very proud to be a product of Mat Kosovo. Artur, Arben, Idriz and Ben thank you. You gave me a very strong HMA foundation. Mat Kosovo, I am proud of you. (5-stars)

Niel Malan

(Counter IED & Search Course - 31st July to 18th August 2017)


The most professional non-military EOD & De-mining training establishment I've ever attended. (5 stars)

Nico Bosman

(Counter IED & Search Course - 31st July to 18th August 2017)


I have attended three courses at MAT over my career. The reason for continuously returning is due to the professional approach, quality of instruction and credibility of qualifications. I can only highly recommend this school. (5 stars)

M Ali Musa

(IMAS EOD Level 3+ Course - 21st August to 8th September 2017)


I would not recommend any other EOD Training centres but MAT Kosovo. I have done all my EOD Trainings L2, L3 and L3+ here. Quality of instructors, Quantity of information, the super nice management of the place. Do not hesitate to have a chance attending this training centre. Thank you. A member of the Lib Mine Action Authority. (5 stars)

Louis Visagie

(IMAS EOD Level 3 course - 6th to 24th March 2017)


Start of EOD L3 course 06/03/2017 this is my second visit to MAT Kosovo, I did the ERW RM course in 2016 and am once again amazed by the quality of the instructors and the professionalism of the check-in process. This training centre is in my opinion without a doubt the best of its kind. I am looking forward to the next 3 weeks. (5 stars)

Richard Bird

(ERW Risk Management Course - 6th to 17th February, 2017)


Excellent and informative training provided by valid and experienced instructors. I have no hesitation in recommending this school to those looking for ERW and EOD training to IMAS standards. (5 stars)

Sven Lindgren - South Africa

(IMAS EOD L3 October 2015)


I am a former IEDD/ EOD operator and explosives instructor from the South African Navy. I wanted to move into Humanitarian De-mining and EOD and looked for schools offering IMAS courses. I found MAT Kosovo, asked around and got positive feedback from colleagues in the field. The Course administration team responded quickly with all the information I would require to attend the IMAS L3 course and any travel arrangements for my arrival in Kosovo. On arrival at the school, we were welcomed by our course instructors and staff. It was great to learn from such professional, knowledgeable and experienced instructors. The school is very well setup for theoretical and practical learning. Practical assessments done on the test phase were realistic. Many thanks to MAT Kosovo’s team who made the course such a pleasure to attend and imparting so much of their invaluable knowledge to us.

Giorgio Giudice - Italy

(FO/ EOD L2 & IMAS EOD L3 Sept & Oct 2015)


I was made to feel at home and allowed to apply myself my studies. My colleagues in the military advised me to enrol at MAT Kosovo. I am an EDD Handler and now have gained more knowledge in explosives and EOD. I attended both the EOD L2 and the EOD L3 courses back to back and must say it was very worth it. The practical part was very interesting and based on realistic scenarios. The Instructors have great communication skills and are prepared to assist students who have language difficulties. This assistance went beyond the normal lessons and training. My experience at MAT Kosovo was very challenging, really intense but very rewarding. I will definitely attend the course EOD 3+ when I have gained field experience. I recommend anyone who wants to take EOD seriously to take these courses with MAT Kosovo.

Thomas Bridgeman - UK

(September & October 2015)


I served in the British Army as a Royal Engineer for 7 years until I was medically discharged due to hearing loss from an incident in Afghanistan. I had always been interested in EOD and was planning on becoming an EOD operator within the military but when was I discharged I didn't think I could achieve that goal. About 8 months later I bumped into another British ex-serviceman on the Thai-Cambodia border who was civilian EOD trained and he recommended MAT Kosovo. Being a soldier who was medically discharged allowed me to use Forces Charities to help pay for the course. After contacting a few well-known Forces Charities in the UK, I was directed to one which generously took on 75% of the course costs. I choose to take both the Level 2 and 3 EOD courses back to back. The training for both courses was very good with excellent facilities and instructors who are very knowledgeable and experienced. After completing my course I was offered a job, this was thanks to the assistance and direction of MAT Kosovo staff.

Dean McCue - South Africa

(IMAS EOD L3 Student, October 2015)


I served in the South African National Defense Force (SANDF) as a Clearance Diver, Explosive Ordnance Disposal and Improvised Explosive Ordnance Disposal Operator over the period 1999 to 2015. I concluded my career for the SANDF as the Senior Explosives Instructor. I was advised by my fellow EOD/IEDD Operators, which had pursued a career in the civilian HMA industry, to get my IMAS Level qualifications and that MAT Kosovo was an ideal place to get this training. I attended the EOD IMAS Level 3 course at MAT Kosovo in October 2015. The professionalism of the staff at MAT Kosovo was outstanding and the real world training that we received from our very experienced instructors was invaluable. Due to the location of the school, we were also exposed to training that was based on real post-conflict EOD operations which would be difficult to achieve at any other training establishment. On the administrative side of things, the school offers very comfortable accommodation and meals and great assistance for students travelling to and from Kosova. The town of Peja is a beautiful city full of friendly accommodating people. In conclusion, I can happily recommend MAT Kosovo for all ERW Training and I hope to be back in the future to complete my IMAS Level 3+.

Tony Belgrave

(IMAS Level 2 FTA and Level 3 EOD Technician courses)


I attended both the IMAS Level 2 FTA and Level 3 EOD Technician courses back to back. The courses were split fairly evenly between the classroom and practical lessons with confirmatory tests each week and two range days where we performed live demolitions. The atmosphere at the school was professional yet relaxed and welcoming. The staff, local and international, were all very friendly and keen to help the students with any queries.